I Am An Intellectual Extrovert

I may be a social introvert, but a friend recently made the astute observation that I am an “intellectual extrovert.” I get energized by ideas.

You can see this when I’m sitting in a classroom or at a conference: the ideas just start flowing, and I have to multitask to keep up with the creative juices. I’ll come away with a dozen ideas for blog posts, a new book idea, a list of people to connect with. I come away both tired from the external social stimulation and energized by the internal stimulation.

I will be teaching in Virginia the next couple of days and am ready for another brain storm!

Leave a Reply

