I’ve Come a Long Way, Baby

I used to be so painfully shy that I would blush and hide behind my mother when anyone talked to me. Now I speak regularly in the classroom and in front of groups as large as 1,000 people.

I took my first airplane flight when I was 21 years old. Now I fly 10-15 times per year and the TSA considers me an Expert Traveler.

In my pre-kindergarten evaluation, I was assessed as “clumsy.” I went on to become a successful athlete and now still run, bike, golf, and play basketball without tripping or falling.

The first time I traveled outside my home state (Wisconsin) was when I was 14 years old. This year I will travel to Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, California, Colorado, Illinois, and probably a few others outside of my current home state of Indiana.

I saw a total of three movies in a theater before high school. Now I am a knowledgeable “movie person” who hosts Oscar parties and used to write film reviews for Christianity Today.

When I was in late elementary school, I desperately wanted a guitar. I finally got one when I was 20 years old and have been playing ever since, currently every other week on our church worship team.

My mom knew only German when she started Kindergarten many years ago. I became the first member of our extended family to earn a Ph.D.

Sometime when I was three or four years old, I learned to read. Now I not only read dozens of books a year, I am working on writing a few of my own.

Your past does not have to define your future. Keep learning and growing and you will be amazed at what God can do in and through your life.

Leave a Reply

