Throwback Thursday: The Price of Leadership

This post first appeared on my blog September 26, 2011.

Several years ago, I read the book The Ascent of a Leader: How Ordinary Relationships Develop Extraordinary Character and Influence as part of my doctoral coursework. I recommend it highly.

One of the most significant insights for me was the authors’ statement that every Christian leader is required to pay a price as he or she grows in character, but that price is different for each person. 

For some leaders, the price is anonymity and obscurity; for others, it is the constant wear and glare of the spotlight. Some are called to move regularly and to give up the security of long-term rootedness; for others, the price is that they must stay put. Some leaders must sacrifice financial gain or security; others would prefer a life of simplicity and are instead burdened with the responsibility of wealth.

“Make no mistake about it, though, there will be a price to pay when we choose to climb the character ladder to the point of aligning with truth,” the authors write.

Three years later, I am still chewing on that idea. What is the path I would choose for my life, and what is the price I am called to pay instead?

What price have you been asked to pay as a leader?

Leave a Reply

