A Cultural Influencer Goes Counter-Cultural

A fascinating article from the Daily Mail online: The director of mega-hit movies including “Ace Ventura,” “The Nutty Professor,” “Patch Adams” and “Bruce Almighty” once commanded millions per picture. But a serious bicycle accident six years ago drastically changed his life.

After his accident, Tom Shadyac sold his 17,000 square-foot mansion and moved into a 1,000 square-foot mobile home. He sold most of his possessions, opened a homeless shelter in Virginia, and now accepts only the minimum salary required by the director’s guild: $218,361.

“I believe I was my least successful when I ‘had it all,'” he said. “The more I give away the wealthier I feel.”

Read the full story here.

Leave a Reply

