Over Your Head

I’m in the process of moving my blog to a new self-hosted site instead of a WordPress.com site. That has meant a huge learning curve about domains, hosting, and navigating my host’s control panel. Since Learner is one of my Strengths, it means I generally enjoy this kind of thing. However, it also means I don’t always know when I’ve gotten in too deep.

Well, such was the case last night. Before I knew it, I couldn’t access anything on the new blog. Further research introduced me to terms such as FTP, MySQL, and PHP; instead of solving my problem, they made my head spin. The more I tried to figure it out on my own, the more confused and frustrated I became. I finally waved the white flag and posted the job over at Elance (more about them in a future post!) to let an expert help untangle my mess.

Moral of the story: Know when you’re in over your head. Whether it’s designing a web site, writing critical communication, conducting counseling, leading your organization out of a mess, or working on your own relationships: learn to recognize when to seek outside assistance and then don’t be too proud to ask for help. Sometimes the ol’ college try gets you more stuck than before.

And one of these days, I’ll introduce you to my new web site.

One thought on “Over Your Head

  1. Pingback: Recommended Resource: Elance « leader's link

Leave a Reply

